Out-of-State Scholarships

Out-of-State Scholarships

MSEP (Midwest Student Exchange Program)

IU South Bend has joined the Midwest Student Exchange Program (MSEP).

The Midwest Student Exchange Program was established by the Midwestern Higher Education Compact to increase interstate educational opportunities for students in its member states.  The program enables legal residents of Illinois, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, and Wisconsin who are admitted as nonresident students to enroll at IU South Bend at a reduced cost.

Students already enrolled at IU South Bend will continue to receive the MSEP tuition rate according to the original terms of the program. New students admitted for Summer 2020, Fall 2020, or Spring 2021 also are eligible for MSEP consideration. Discussions regarding the tuition rate for Michigan residents admitted for Summer 2021 and beyond are in process. Please check back for updates.


Students from partnering states coming to IU South Bend will pay 150% of the in-state resident tuition rate. This is the in-state tuition rate plus 50% of the in-state rate.


You must be enrolling as a non-resident undergraduate or graduate student.  Only those seeking to complete a credential (degree, certificate, diploma) are eligible.  Non-degree students and students in fully online programs are ineligible.  No application is needed; the reduction will be automatically posted for eligible students.  Eligibility is based on the student's address at the time of admission.

International student eligibility:

If you reside in a participating state and have one of the following immigration statuses you may qualify:

A-1, A-2, A-3, E-1, E-2, E-3, G-1, G-2, G-3, G-4, H-1B, H-4, I, L-1, L-2, O-1, O-3, V-1, V-2, V-3, or pending 1-485 beneficiary.

Visit the MSEP website for more information or contact the Scholarships Office at scholar1@iusb.edu.

Chancellor's Merit Award

The Chancellor's Merit Award is intended to promote the enrollment of high ability students at IU South Bend and is available to degree-seeking undergraduate students who are not legal residents to the state of Indiana or are eligible non-citizens.  The scholarship provides students with the opportunity to receive a reduction in the out-of-state tuition rate.  Students in fully online programs are not eligible for Chancellor's Merit. A limited number of awards per year will be made to students who meet the criteria listed below.

To be eligible for this award, incoming freshman must meet the following:

  • Graduate from a U.S. high school or state recognized home school program with a college preparatory curriculum,

  • Have a minimum 3.0 cumulative grade point average (GPA) on a 4.0 scale,

  • An old SAT critical reading and math combined score of 950 or higher (20 or higher composite score on the ACT), or a new SAT score of 1030 (Evidence- based Reading and Writing + Math)

  • Be formally admitted without condition (students will not be reviewed until they have been granted full admission status).

Transfer Students:

To be eligible for this award, out-of-state fee-paying transfer students must meet the following:

  • Indiana House enacted HB 1402 and SB 590 prohibits students that are not U.S. Citizens or a qualified alien from receiving institutional scholarship funds.  Students that do not meet these criteria will not be eligible for the scholarship.

  • Transfer from a U.S. college with at least 26 transferable credit hours, and

  • Have earned a minimum cumulative 3.0 GPA in previous collegiate coursework.

Note: Transfer students with fewer than 26 transferable credit hours are required to meet the high school record and test score requirements listed above.  Priority will be given to students pursuing their first bachelors' degree.


Recipients of the Chancellor's Merit Award will pay 140% of the in-state resident tuition rate.  Students who are legal residents of qualifying MSEP states (see above) will receive the MSEP award and a fixed Chancellor's Merit award which will reduce their cost to 140% of the in-state resident tuition rate.  Awards require continuous enrollment in fall and spring semesters, a minimum of half-time enrollment (6 credit hours) during the fall and spring semesters, and the successful completion of at least 18 credit hours during the award year (Fall, Spring, and Summer). Students in fully online programs are not eligible for the Chancellor’s Merit Award.


The Chancellor’s Merit Award is automatically renewable if students meet the following criteria:

  • Maintain a cumulative B average,

  • Maintain a minimum of half-time enrollment in each of the fall and spring semesters, and

  • Complete a minimum of 18 credit hours during the academic year (an academic year consists of Fall, Spring and the following Summer Sessions).

Exceptional Merit Award

The Exceptional Merit Award is available for exceptional students from participating MSEP states.  This award is available to graduating high school seniors admitted to an on-campus, degree-seeking program at IU South Bend by March 1st.  Students must have a 3.75 or above high school grade point average to qualify. To accept this award, recipients will need to complete the Office of Admission’s confirmation process no later than May 1st. 

To apply for these scholarships students need only to complete their application to attend IU South Bend. If students meet the requirements, they automatically receive the appropriate scholarship and will be notified.   


The scholarship recipient would be able to attend IU South Bend at the equivalent of the Indiana resident tuition rate of approximately $6,750 a year.


The award is automatically renewable for an additional 3 years when students enroll full-time each fall and spring, complete 30 credit hours each academic year and maintain a 3.0 cumulative GPA. 

Indiana University South Bend

1700 Mishawaka Ave
South Bend, IN 46615
Phone: 574-520-4872